Dashed

The adventurous in-laws and I survived the Warrior Dash last weekend. It was ridiculous. It was fun. It was tiring. It’s taken me this long to write about it because my fingers were sore until yesterday (kidding). It was mostly exhilarating to do something that really challenged me physically and was somewhat scary to boot. I’m super proud of this:

 Because in case you can’t tell, I was terrified of climbing up that rope. Before I started I had flashbacks of gym class in elementary school, trying to hoist my chubby self up a rope while the class watched…I’m pretty sure gym class is a form of social torture for kids that aren’t super athletic.

Dave and Leslie (aka adventurous in-laws) encouraged and pushed me, and even though I was shaky and scared I did it. And it felt awesome.

I don’t tend to seek out things that really get me out of my comfort zone, which is why I make lists like my “adventure list”–I think I need goals and heaps of encouragement to do frightening, life-giving, fulfilling things.

What do you do to push yourself outside your comfort zone? Who encourages you in that? Peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

