Where you are

When I worked in the Admissions office at my seminary and we had visit days, there was this great devotional that one of my co-workers would guide the prospective students through.  One of the Scripture passages it used was about Elijah, from 1 Kings 19.  He’s been through craziness in being faithful to God, and ends up fleeing for his life.  God meets him and asks Elijah twice, “What are you doing here?”. When I read that my reaction is, really God? Elijah did what God had asked him to do, and it got him in trouble with powerful people. Running away from people who promised to kill him, and running away from a place where he cause a whole lot of trouble, seems like good plan.  Why does God ask him that?

There are so many more things to say about that passage, more things to focus on, and many different ways to read it.  But it always centered me when we did that devotional because of the question, “What are you doing here?”.  It’s a call to intentionality–in the place where you are, how are you living?  How aren’t you living? What are you doing here?  It makes space to consider your journey, and why it is you’re in that specific place. To remember what you brought you to that place. What are you doing here?

I don’t think that is necessarily what God meant when God asked Elijah that question.  But I love that it calls me to reflect, repent, and live fully.  What am I doing here.

One thought on “Where you are

  1. Wonderful question. I have to admit that there have been MANY times in my life when I have not been able to answer that question clearly, or with any certainty that what I was doing was what I was most “meant” to do. In fact, most of the time I was pretty sure I was screwing things up! The older I get, the more I am convinced that God is less concerned about what we are “doing” than with our “being.” As someone once said, “never forget that we are human beings, not human doings.” I believe, more and more, that the #1 concern of our lives should be to what extent we are delighting in our relationship with Jesus. Or, to put it another way, perhaps what God was seeking when the question comes “What are you doing here?” is some response like this: “I am here, Lord, to see what you are up to in this place, and to enjoy the day walking with you!” God, grant us the grace to simply be your beloved children!

Leave a Reply

